Declaration of Amsterdam

The Amsterdam Declaration has been signed by the transport ministers of all 28 EU member states during the informal meeting of the Transport Council on 14 April. It lays down agreements on the steps necessary for the development of self-driving technology in the EU. In this document the Netherlands, the European Commission, EU member states and the transport industry pledge to draw up rules and regulations that will allow autonomous vehicles to be used on the roads.